Comparison
Hookquill vs Poppy AI: An Honest Comparison
If you are choosing a script tool for YouTube, you are likely weighing how each one handles your voice, your workflow, and your budget. Hookquill and Poppy AI approach the same job from opposite directions. One is built around a document editor with line-level control. The other uses a visual canvas where sources connect as nodes.
The real difference comes down to how you prefer to work. Poppy AI suits people who think spatially and want human onboarding calls. Hookquill suits writers who want monthly billing, native multilingual output, and strict control over every suggested edit.
By Founder @ Hookquill · Updated
The short answer
Neither tool fits every creator. Poppy AI is the stronger choice if you think visually, want to arrange sources on a whiteboard, or value human onboarding calls to set up your workspace. It also supports multiplayer boards for research teams, which Hookquill does not offer. Hookquill is the better fit if you need a traditional document editor, predictable monthly billing without annual commitments, or scripts written natively in multiple languages. Both tools handle voice profiles, but they enforce them differently. Read the rows below to see which constraints match your actual workflow.
Feature by feature
| Hookquill | Poppy AI | |
|---|---|---|
| Workspace type | Document editor with line-level change tracking | Visual canvas with connected nodes; no document editor |
| Voice profile setup | Built from your channel or writing samples; inspiration channels inform format only, never voice | Stores tone, top phrases, audience, and offer; encourages blending viral patterns with your own voice |
| Editing control | Every AI suggestion shown as a line-level change to accept or reject | Content stays in the platform until copied out |
| Billing options | Monthly billing on every plan, plus a free tier with no card required | $33/mo billed annually; $1 for the first 7 days; no monthly plan shown |
| Credit transparency | Credit cost printed on every button that spends credits | Public reviews note credit limits can be unclear up front and reusing attached documents may charge credits again |
| Languages supported | Nine languages written natively (English, Hindi, Urdu, Spanish, Portuguese, German, French, Indonesian, Arabic) | Not stated publicly |
| Human onboarding | Not offered | Onboarding calls included; most praised feature in 400 Trustpilot reviews (rated 4.8) |
| Multiplayer collaboration | Not offered | Multiplayer boards for collaborating on research |
| Automated review checks | Free checks for banned phrases, runtime, and reading level, plus optional editorial review | Not stated publicly |
| Teardowns | Paste any YouTube link to extract structure (hook, beats, open loops) without reproducing the transcript | Not stated publicly |
Pricing
Poppy AI
| Plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|
| Base | $33/mo billed annually ($399/yr) | 2,000 credits a month, 1 seat; boards, scripts, ads and images. $1 for the first 7 days. |
| Creator | $189/mo billed annually ($2,268/yr) | 8,000 credits a month, 3 seats, a VSL and landing-page builder with a custom domain. |
| Power User | Custom (demo call) | 16,000 credits a month, 5 seats, chatbots, agents and API access. |
From Poppy AI's pricing page on 2026-10-09, which lists annual billing only. It offers a 30-day money-back guarantee on a first subscription payment, but its refund policy requires attending an onboarding call first, and credits are not refundable.
Hookquill
| Plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|
| Free | Free | 150 credits once, with Google sign-in |
| Starter | $29/mo | 1,200 credits a month, about 9 12-minute scripts |
| Creator | $79/mo | 3,600 credits a month, about 29 12-minute scripts |
| Pro | $199/mo | 10,000 credits a month, about 81 12-minute scripts |
Who each tool suits
Pick Poppy AI if
- You think by arranging sources spatially and prefer a visual whiteboard over a document editor.
- You want human onboarding calls to help set up your workspace and voice profile.
- You collaborate with a team on research and need multiplayer boards.
Pick Hookquill if
- You want monthly billing options and a free tier that requires no credit card.
- You write scripts in languages other than English and need native output across nine languages.
- You prefer reviewing and accepting AI edits line by line rather than swapping whole sections.
- You want automated checks for banned phrases, runtime, and reading level before publishing.
Questions
How does pricing compare per script?
Hookquill lists four tiers from a free plan at 150 credits (enough for one ten-minute video with voiceover) to a Pro plan at 10,000 credits (about 83 twelve-minute scripts), all available monthly. Poppy AI shows one plan at $33 per month billed annually, with a $1 trial for the first seven days. No monthly plan is shown for Poppy AI, and its credit-to-script ratio is not stated publicly.
Which tool supports more languages?
Hookquill writes natively in nine languages: English, Hindi, Urdu, Spanish, Portuguese, German, French, Indonesian, and Arabic. Poppy AI does not state its language support publicly based on our collected facts.
Will either tool clone another creator's voice?
Hookquill never clones another creator's voice. Inspiration channels inform format and structure only. Poppy AI encourages blending viral patterns from other creators with your own voice, stored in a voice profile workspace.
What do public reviews say about Poppy AI?
Poppy AI holds a 4.8 rating from 400 reviews on Trustpilot, with human onboarding calls receiving the most praise. Recurring themes in public reviews mention inconsistent output quality requiring template corrections, credits being charged again when reusing attached documents, difficulty with refunds and cancellations, and unclear credit limits on the annual commitment.
Facts about Poppy AI come from its own pages and public reviews, checked on . Prices change; confirm on Poppy AI’s site before you decide.

